Ohio Election Results

November 10, 2022 12:50 PM | Tony Seegers (Administrator)

2022 State of Ohio Election Results

Ohio House and Senate

It was a historic election night for statehouse Republicans as the party is set for the most favorable margins they have enjoyed in decades when the 135th General Assembly begins in January.

In the House, the Republicans may have a 68-31 supermajority, a gain of four seats.  The word “may” is important as Republican Ronald Beach has a small lead over incumbent Rep. Richard Brown (D-Canal Winchester) in the 5th District.  One unexpected blow to House Democrats was the loss of Rep. Thomas West (D-Canton), the No. 2 Democrat in the House to Republican Challenger Jim Thomas.

The GOP in the Senate has a majority not seen since 1951 with the defeat of Democrat Sen. Tina Maharath of Canal Winchester by challenger Michele Reynolds.  The GOP is poised to start the new General Assembly at the beginning of the new year with a 26-7 majority.  

Statewide Offices

Gov. DeWine easily beat his Democrat opponent, Nan Whaley, the former mayor of Dayton, 63 percent to 37 percent.

Attorney General Dave Yost, State Auditor Keith Faber, Secretary of State Frank LaRose and Treasurer Robert Sprague also won their reelection bids.

Ohio Supreme Court

Justice Sharon Kennedy won her election against her Democrat opponent to take over the Chief Justice seat from the retiring Chief Justice, Maureen O’Connor.

Republican Justices Pat Fisher and Pat DeWine, son of Gov. DeWine, both won reelection to their seats.

This was the first Supreme Court election where the candidates for justice had their party designation next to their names on the ballot.

State Issues

Issue 1, a proposed amendment to the state’s Constitution that requires judges to consider public safety when setting monetary bail, was approved by voters.  Issue 2, the second proposed amendment to the state’s Constitution on the ballot was also approved by voters.  It bars local governments from enabling non-citizens to vote in local elections.

U.S. Senate

Republican JD Vance won his bid over Democrat Congressman Tim Ryan to replace retiring Senator Rob Portman.

U.S. House

Democrats picked up a House seat with Democrat Greg Landsman beating incumbent U.S. Rep. Steve Chabot (R-Cincinnati).

Current State Representative Rep. Emilia Sykes (D-Akron) won her bid to fill the seat left open by Tim Ryan’s U.S. Senate bid.

Here are the results in the other U.S. House races:

  • 2nd District: U.S. Rep. Brad Wenstrup (R-Cincinnati) defeated Democrat Samantha Meadows.
  • 3rd District: U.S. Rep. Joyce Beatty (D-Blacklick) defeated Republican Lee Stahley.
  • 4th District: U.S. Rep. Jim Jordan (R-Urbana) defeated Democrat Tamie Wilson.
  • 5th District: U.S. Rep. Bob Latta (R-Bowling Green) defeated Democrat Craig Swartz.
  • 6th District: U.S. Rep. Bill Johnson (R-Marietta) defeated Democrat Lou Lyras.
  • 7th District: Republican Max Miller defeated Democrat Matthew Diemer for the seat currently held by the retiring U.S. Rep. Bob Gibbs (R-Ashland).
  • 8th District: U.S. Rep. Warren Davidson (R-Troy) defeated Democrat Vanessa Enoch.
  • 10th District: U.S. Rep. Michael Turner (R-Dayton) defeated Democrat David Esrati.
  • 11th District: U.S. Rep. Shontel Brown (D-Cleveland) defeated Republican Eric Brewer.
  • 12th District: U.S. Rep. Troy Balderson (R-Zanesville) defeated Amy Rippel-Elton.
  • 14th District: U.S. Rep. David Joyce (R-Chagrin Falls) defeated Democrat Matt Kilboy.
  • 15th District: U.S. Rep. Mike Carey (R-Columbus) defeated Democrat Gary Josephson.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software